Are you a music teacher looking to join an organization that will help you advance your teaching in practical ways and give you a local network of musicians who also teach? Join us!

Membership in MMTA [Macon Music Teachers Association includes membership in MTNA [Music Teachers National Association]. This affiliation offers you access to a wide range of benefits and services designed especially to meet your needs as a professional music teacher. Some of these benefits and services include

  • a subscription to the American Music Teacher magazine,
  • various newsletters & programs,
  • special group rates,
  • financial services and networking opportunities.

Beyond this, however, the local chapter offers interesting, informative programming, and performance opportunities which will enhance the education of your students.

MMTA also sponsors the National Federation of Music Clubs Junior Festival each year at Mercer University. This is a positive experience for students, and an opportunity for them to receive valuable comments and earn points toward the popular “gold cup”. There is also the opportunity for the students to participate in the National Guild Auditions. In addition, GMTA Auditions are held each spring.

For more information, contact us using the website form and we will be happy to send you more information!


MMTA Officers 2014-2015

President – Susan Mincey
President Elect – Sheryl Wilkinson
VP of Programs – Chenny Gan
VP of Membership – Susan McDuffie
VP of Publicity – Tom Rule (Website) and Phebe Settles (Facebook Page)
Recording Secretary – Denise West
Treasurer – Monni Parrish
Parliamentarian – Cindy Feagin
Corresponding Secretary – Nancy Dyes


GFMC Festival – Connie Davis
Guild Auditions – Sheryl Wilkinson
GMTA Auditions – Cindy Feagin
Yearbook – Monni Parrish
Nominating Committee – Susan Mincey, Marie Woodall, Gerald Carper
Hospitality – Marie Woodall
Care and Concern – Sheryl Wilkinson
Representative to the Macon Arts Alliance – Susan McDuffie
Archivist – Gerald Carper
Haidee Martin Scholarship – Monni Parrish, Sheryl Wilkinson, Cindy Feagin